Is Auto Insurance Required in Texas?
The law requires drivers in the state to show proof that they are able to financially pay for accidents they cause. Many drivers will do this by getting liability coverage. This coverage pays to repair another driver’s car if you cause an accident, along with their medical bills. In order to be compliant with the law, you need to have at least $60,000 of coverage for bodily injury liability per accident and $25,000 for property damage liability. However, the minimum liability amounts may be too low for your financial security, so you always have the option of getting more coverage. If you don’t have enough coverage to pay for injuries and damages you cause, then you may be required to pay the rest out of pocket.
Other Types of Auto Insurance in Texas
Liability insurance is not the only type of auto insurance you can purchase to help protect you financially.
- Collision Coverage: This pays to replace your vehicle after you are in an accident, regardless of whether or not you caused the collision.
- Comprehensive Coverage: This also pays to replace or repair your vehicle if your vehicle is damaged by flood, vandalism, fire, or something not related to an accident, or if it is stolen.
- Medical Payments Coverage: This pays for you and your passengers' medical bills and can also pay if you are hurt while you are a passenger in someone’s car, or while you are biking or walking.
- Uninsured/Underinsured Coverage: This helps you if you are in an accident with someone who doesn’t have the minimum amount of insurance required by law or who doesn’t have insurance. It can also pay if you are in a hit-and-run accident. Your insurance agent at Converse Insurance must offer this coverage.
- Rental Reimbursement Coverage: This pays for you to get a rental car if yours is being fixed after an accident or if your car is stolen.
Contact Converse Insurance to get a quote on auto insurance.